top of page

Congratulations to four active COD Members!

The consortium acknowledges the following members on their recent accomplishments:

Dr. Phyllis Qualls

Class of 2013, Co-Director

On April 2, Dr. Phyllis Qualls began a new position, Assistant Vice President for Strategy and Institutional Advancement, at American Baptist College. American Baptist College was the site of the Think Tank during the 2018 COD Conference in Nashville, TN. Dr. Qualls was previously the Deputy Clerk, Metro Nashville Davidson County.

Dr. Yasmia Dunn

Class of 2015, Co-Director, Membership Committee Chairperson

On May 10, 2019, Dr. Yasmia Dunn was promoted to Sergeant in the Chicago Police Department. Dunn is an active member of the National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives. Dunn is the youngest member of COD’s Executive Committee.

Dr. Sylvia Carey-Butler

Class of 2011, Former Director ('16-'18), Think Tank Committee Chairperson

Dr. Sylvia Carey-Butler has been named to Chief Diversity Officer at Kennesaw State University in Kennesaw, Georgia. Dr. Carey-Butler currently serves as Vice Chancellor for Academic Support of Inclusive Excellence at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh. She will join Kennesaw State on July 29, 2019.

Dr. Carolyn Baldwin-Tucker

Class of 2010, Parliamentarian, Bylaw Committee Chairperson

On May 4th, 2019, Dr. Carolyn Baldwin-Tucker received her 50th Year Vintagers Award Certificate at Tennessee State University’s graduation. In 1999, she was the first African American woman to win a county-wide race in Davidson County (Nashville). Dr. Baldwin-Tucker is a retired educator.

114 views0 comments


bottom of page